The Besançon Franche-Comté International Music Festival was at the forefront of innovation in 2004 with the creation of a composer’s residence.

The idea came from the observation that modern classical music is not always accessible, and concerts with no introduction serve only to compound the difficulty often encountered in understanding the work.
The regular presence of a composer, able to tell the public about their own work throughout the year, makes the world of contemporary music and the composer more accessible.

The residence in three points

  • Order of a symphonic piece

The Festival commissions each composer to produce a symphonic piece created successively by the two or three finalists of the International Competition for Young Conductors during the Final.

  • Programmation of the composer’s works during the Festival

For two years, a beautiful place is reserved for the composer’s music through the Festival. Discussions with the composer and the musicians are also organized, during or in connection with concerts.

  • Organization of meetings, rehearsals and masterclasses

Together with a number of local partners, the Festival holds audiences, conferences, and masterclasses for pupils at the region’s music schools and conservatories, primary schools, secondary schools, and colleges, as well as the Université de Franche-Comté.

Camille Pépin, in residence for the 2020/2021 period, is the ninth composer in residence at the Festival.
She
Éric Tanguy (2018/2019),  Philippe Hersant (2016/2017), Guillaume Connesson (2014/2015), Misato Mochizuki (2012/2013), Michael Jarrell (2010/2011), Édith Canat de Chizy (2009), Bruno Mantovani (2006/2008) and Philippe Fénelon (2004/2005).

Partners of the residence

The cultural action of the Sacem

Since the 1960s, Sacem has been developing a cultural activity to support musical creation, the dissemination of works, and the training and integration of young professionals. The 1985 Private Copying Act created additional resources for its approach to supporting musical life. Sacem offers support programs that take into account the specificities of the various repertoires it protects: classical contemporary music, other contemporary music (song, rock, electro, world music, etc.), music to the image, poetry, humor. The cultural action of Sacem thus contributes to the emergence of new talents, contributing ultimately to the renewal of repertoires.

SACEM website

Acteur de la création et de la diffusion de la musique contemporaine, le Festival développe depuis plus de quinze ans un projet de résidence de compositeur.

Le Festival innovait en 2004 avec la mise en œuvre d’une résidence de compositeur : celle-ci est née du constat que la musique contemporaine n’est pas toujours facile d’accès et que la présentation d’œuvres, contemporaine notamment, sans introduction ne fait qu’entretenir l’incompréhension qu’elle suscite souvent.
La présence régulière d’un compositeur, à même de présenter lui-même son travail au public tout au long de l’année, permet de faciliter l’accès à son univers et à la musique contemporaine en général.

La résidence en trois points

  • Commande d’une pièce symphonique

Le Festival commande à chaque compositeur une pièce symphonique créée successivement par les deux ou trois finalistes du Concours international de jeunes chefs d’orchestre, lors de la Finale.

  • Programmation des œuvres du compositeur lors du Festival

Pendant deux années, une belle place est réservée à la musique du compositeur, à travers la programmation du Festival notamment. Des rencontres ou échanges avec le compositeur et les musiciens sont également organisés, pendant ou en lien avec certains concerts.

  • Organisation de rencontres, répétitions et masterclasses

En lien avec de nombreux partenaires locaux, le Festival organise des rencontres, conférences et masterclasses pour les élèves des conservatoires et écoles de musique de la région, des écoles, collèges et lycées, de l’Université de Franche-Comté…

Camille Pépin, en résidence pour la période 2020/2021, est la neuvième compositrice en résidence au Festival.
Elle succède à Éric Tanguy (2018/2019), Philippe Hersant (2016/2017), Guillaume Connesson (2014/2015), Misato Mochizuki (2012/2013), Michael Jarrell (2010/2011), Édith Canat de Chizy (2009), Bruno Mantovani (2006/2008) et Philippe Fénelon (2004/2005).

Les partenaires de la résidence

L’action culturelle de la Sacem

La Sacem développe, depuis les années 1960, une action culturelle pour soutenir la création musicale, la diffusion des œuvres, la formation et l’insertion des jeunes professionnels. Les dispositions de la loi de 1985 instaurant la Copie Privée lui ont fourni des ressources complémentaires dans sa démarche d’accompagnement de la vie musicale. La Sacem propose des programmes d’aides prenant en compte les spécificités des différents répertoires qu’elle protège : musique contemporaine, musiques actuelles (chanson, rock, électro, musiques du monde, etc.), musiques à l’image, poésie, humour.
L’action culturelle de la Sacem participe ainsi à l’émergence de nouveaux talents, contribuant, in fine, au renouvellement des répertoires.

Site de la SACEM