Born in 1965 in Athens, Alexandros Markeas studied piano and composition at the National Conservatory of Greece, then at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris, where he has taught improvisation since 2003.
His work is marked by his desire to decode and modify the mechanisms of musical perception. He is often inspired by pre-existing music to reinterpret and deconstruct their aesthetic references by creating forms that freely alternate between references and pure sound abstraction. Traditional Mediterranean music, the renaissance repertoire, rock and jazz are an essential source of inspiration for him.
He also draws inspiration from different fields of artistic expression, such as architecture, theatre, and the visual arts (installations, events, video, web) to seek alternatives to the traditional concert and to create particular musical listening situations. His pieces are marked by a theatrical spirit and by the use of multimedia techniques.

Alexandros Markeas specialises in improvised music and gives numerous concerts as a soloist or in a group. At the same time, he devotes himself to composition. He attended the writing, analysis and composition classes at the CNSMDP with Guy Reibel, Michael Levinas and Marc-André Dalbavie. He obtained first prizes in counterpoint, fugue and composition, a discipline for which he followed the advanced cycle. He was also selected to follow the annual composition and computer music course at IRCAM, as well as the Académie de composition at the Aix-en-Provence Festival.

For 30 years, his works have been performed in France and abroad by various groups such as the Ensemble InterContemporain, the Ensemble Modern, Alter ego, Proxima Centauri, Court-Circuit, l’Itinéraire, TM+, Ars Nova, Musicatreize, Sequenza 93, the Habanera Quartet, the Arditti Quartet, the Diotima Quartet, the Percussions de Strasbourg, the Philharmonic and National Orchestras of Radio France, the National Orchestra of Lorraine, the National Orchestra of Lille.
Alexandros Markeas has been commissioned by the French government, Radio France and the Royaumont Foundation, and has been awarded numerous residencies (the Quartz in Brest, the Arsenal in Metz, the Détours de Babel festival in Grenoble, the Printemps des arts festival in Monaco) to develop musical theatre projects and to compose many pedagogical works for children and amateur ensembles.

As a pianist, he has been developing the Piano-Cameleon project for several years, which consists of various improvised or premeditated sequences, based on the idea of the continuous change of the piano’s sound through the use of string preparation or electronics in real time.

  • 1965 Born in Athens
  • 1970 Music studies at the National Conservatory of Athens
  • 1987 Piano studies at the National Conservatory of Paris (CNSMDP)
  • 1992 Composition studies at the CNSMDP
  • 1997 Composition course and new technologies at IRCAM
  • 1999 Academy of France in Rome – Villa Medicis
  • 2001 SACEM Hervé Dugardin Prize
  • 2001 – 2005 The Treatise on Forms by Jean-François Peyret
  • 2003 Appointed professor of generative improvisation at the CNSMDP
  • 2004 Dimotika, monographic cd
  • 2005 – 2007 Residency with Les Musiques Inventives d’Annecy and the CNR des pays de Savoie
  • 2006 Critics’ Prize for the music of the play Le Cas de Sophie K
  • 2008 Artist associated with Quartz, national scene of Brest
  • 2009 SACD New Music Talent Award
  • 2011 Artist associated with the national scene of Evreux
  • 2014 – 2016 Composer in residence at the Arsenal – Metz en Scènes and with the Orchester National de Lorraine
  • 2016 – 2017 Composer in residence with the Ivry chamber music meetings
  • 2017 Guest composer at Les Détours de Babel festival in Grenoble
  • 2018 Composer in residence at CRR de Rueil-Malmaison
  • 2019 Composer in residence of the Printemps des Arts festival in Monaco
  • 2020 SACD Music Prize

© Yves Petit

offical website

Né en 1965 à Athènes, Alexandros Markeas étudie le piano et l’écriture musicale au Conservatoire National de Grèce, puis au Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris, où il enseigne l’improvisation depuis 2003.
Son travail est marqué par sa volonté de décoder et de modifier les mécanismes de la perception musicale. Il s’inspire souvent des musiques préexistantes pour réinterpréter et déconstruire leurs repères esthétiques en créant des formes qui alternent librement entre références et abstraction sonore pure. Les musiques traditionnelles méditerranéennes, le répertoire de renaissance, le rock et le jazz sont pour lui une source d’inspiration essentielle.
Il s’inspire également de différents domaines d’expression artistique, tels que l’architecture, le théâtre, et les arts plastiques (installations, événements, vidéo, web) pour chercher des alternatives au concert traditionnel et créer des situations d’écoute musicale particulières. Ses pièces sont marquées par un esprit théâtral et par l’utilisation des techniques multimédia.

Alexandros Markeas se spécialise dans la musique improvisée et il donne de nombreux concerts en soliste ou en formation. Parallèlement, il se consacre à la composition. Il suit les classes d’écriture, d’analyse et de composition du CNSMDP avec Guy Reibel, Michael Levinas et Marc-André Dalbavie. Il obtient les premiers prix de contrepoint, fugue et composition, discipline dont il suit le cycle de perfectionnement. Il est aussi sélectionné pour suivre le cursus annuel de composition et d’informatique musicale de l’IRCAM, ainsi que l’Académie de composition du festival d’Aix-en-Provence.

Depuis 30 ans, ses œuvres sont joués en France et à l’étranger par différentes formations comme l’Ensemble InterContemporain, l’Ensemble Modern, Alter ego, Proxima Centauri, Court-Circuit, l’Itinéraire, TM+, Ars Nova, Musicatreize, Sequenza 93, le quatuor Habanera, le quatuor Arditti, le quatuor Diotima, les Percussions de Strasbourg, les Orchestres Philharmonique et National de Radio France, l’Orchestre National de Lorraine, l’Orchestre National de Lille.
Alexandros Markeas reçoit des commandes d’État, de Radio France de la Fondation Royaumont et bénéficie de nombreuses résidences (le Quartz de Brest, l’Arsenal de Metz, le festival Détours de Babel à Grenoble, le festival Printemps des arts de Monaco, pour développer des projets de théâtre musical et composer beaucoup d’oeuvres pédagogiques destinées aux enfants et aux formations d’amateurs.

En tant que pianiste il développe depuis plusieurs années le projet Piano-Caméléon, qui se décline en différents séquences improvisées ou préméditées, basées sur l’idée du changement continu de la sonorité du piano grâce à l’utilisation de la préparation des cordes ou l’électronique en temps réel.

  • 1965 Naissance à Athènes
  • 1970 Études de musique au Conservatoire National d’Athènes
  • 1987 Études de piano au CNSMD de Paris
  • 1992 Études de composition au CNSMD de Paris
  • 1997 Cursus de composition et nouvelles technologies à l’IRCAM
  • 1999 Académie de France à Rome (Villa Médicis)
  • 2001 Prix Hervé Dugardin de la SACEM
  • 2001 – 2005 Le Traité des Formes de Jean-François Peyret
  • 2003 Nommé professeur d’improvisation générative au CNSMD de Paris
  • 2004 Dimotika, cd monographique
  • 2005 – 2007 Résidence auprès des Musiques Inventives d’Annecy et du CNR des Pays de Savoie
  • 2006 Prix de la critique pour la musique de la pièce Le Cas de Sophie K
  • 2008 Artiste associé au Quartz, scène nationale de Brest
  • 2009 Prix nouveau talent musique de la SACD pour l’opéra de chambre Outsider
  • 2011 Artiste associé à la Scène nationale d’Évreux
  • 2014-2016 Compositeur en résidence à l’Arsenal – Metz en Scènes et avec l’Orchestre National de Lorraine
  • 2016-2017 Compositeur associé aux rencontres de musique de chambre d’Ivry
  • 2017 Compositeur invité du festival Les Détours de Babel à Grenoble
  • 2018 Compositeur en résidence au CRR de Rueil-Malmaison
  • 2019 Compositeur en résidence du festival la Printemps des Arts de Monaco
  • 2020 Prix de la musique de la SACD

© Yves Petit

Site officiel