Faced with the health crisis, the entire Festival team worked on a new organization to maintain concerts and welcome the public.

While the program was essentially maintained, with adjustments and innovations, the Festival had to give up the large symphonic formations, which could not be welcomed on the stages while maintaining physical distance.
But the 2020 edition has remained rich and varied, faithful to the eclecticism of the Festival, with more than 30 concerts, the maintenance of orchestras of up to 40 musicians, as well as chamber music, jazz and world music formations, sometimes outdoors, in larger halls, and some broadcasts on giant screens and the Internet.

Brochure of the 73th "limited edition"
2020 Press review
2020 Press kit
2020 Photo & video gallery

First review

Artistic review

The 73rd “limited edition” of the Festival ended Sunday, September 20, with Orquesta Silbando’s tango notes at the Grand Kursaal, a concert broadcast on a giant screen in Place Granvelle and live on the Internet.
The positioning of the Festival at the end of the summer allowed us to set up an edition adapted to the health context (suppression of the big symphonic formations, changes of places, schedules, retransmissions on giant screen and on the web…), and to offer you, after several months of silence, an edition which remained rich and varied.

Highlights include the Orchestre de chambre de Lausanne with soloist Alisa Weilerstein on cello in Shostakovich’s Concerto, under the baton of Joshua Weilerstein, the only “big band” of this edition with the Orchestre Victor Hugo Franche-Comté.
Two very beautiful moments also at the Grand Kursaal: Hervé Niquet and the Concert Spirituel offered a Handel evening of the highest level, while Quintet Bumbac took the audience on a journey with its melodies from the Balkans and the Middle East.
The young audience concert “Mozart illustré”, premiered at the Festival, with the Winds Arts Orchestra conducted by Julien Bénéteau, and live illustrations by Grégoire Pont, was also a great success, both with school children and the general public.
Finally, the aperitif-jazz concerts, Place Granvelle, replacing after-jazz, found its audience from the very first evening, with attendance tripled compared to the old formula.

OCLausanne (c) Yves Petit

Orchestre de Chambre de Lausanne © Yves Petit

Camille Pépin seduced

The residence of composer Camille Pépin had to be reduced, with the cancellation of part of the meetings planned for the spring with the conservatories, as well as two concerts where symphonic pieces should have been played in September.

But festival-goers were still able to hear the music of our young composer thanks to the Trio Metral and then Célia Oneto Bensaid who performed two pieces magnificently in a Ravel-Glass-Pépin recital.

Camille Pépin (c) Yves Petit

Camille Pépin © Yves Petit

Some figures

• The 2020 edition is marked by the COVID-19 health crisis with the cancellation of seven symphony concerts, the reduction of gauges and the changes in halls and schedules.

10000
spectators
3000
spectators on charged concerts only
7000
spectators on free concerts
-75%
de billetterie par rapport à 2018

The cancellation of seven major concerts and the reduction of gauges partly explain these figures, but it seems that a part of the public has not yet fully regained its way to the concert halls…

• The 2020 budget is slightly lower due to cancellations.

815000
euros approx.

• In this exceptional year, the Festival would particularly like to thank all its partners and patrons who have maintained their support.

Face à la crise sanitaire, toute l’équipe du Festival a travaillé sur une nouvelle organisation permettant le maintien des concerts et l’accueil du public.

Si la programmation a été maintenue pour l’essentiel, avec des ajustements et des innovations, le Festival a du renoncer aux grandes formations symphoniques, qui ne pouvaient être accueillies sur les plateaux en maintenant la distanciation physique.
Mais l’édition 2020 est restée riche et variée, fidèle à l’éclectisme du Festival, avec plus de 30 concerts, le maintien des orchestres jusqu’à 40 musiciens, ainsi que de la musique de chambre, des formations de jazz et de musiques du monde, parfois en plein-air, dans des salles plus grandes, et quelques retransmissions sur écrans géants et sur Internet.

Brochure de la 73e "édition limité"
Bilan de la 73e "édition limitée"
Revue de presse 2020
Dossier de presse 2020
La médiathèque de l'édition 2020

Premier bilan

Bilan artistique

La 73e « édition limitée » du Festival s’est terminée ce dimanche 20 septembre sur les notes tango d’Orquesta Silbando au Grand Kursaal, concert retransmis sur écran géant Place Granvelle et en direct sur Internet.
Le positionnement du Festival en fin d’été nous a permis de mettre en place une édition adaptée au contexte sanitaire (suppression des grandes formations symphoniques, changements de lieux, d’horaires, retransmissions sur écran géant et sur le web…), et de vous proposer, après plusieurs mois de silence, une édition qui est restée riche et variée.

Parmi les temps forts, citons l’Orchestre de chambre de Lausanne avec en soliste Alisa Weilerstein au violoncelle dans le Concerto de Chostakovitch, sous la baguette de Joshua Weilerstein, seule « grande formation » de cette édition avec l’Orchestre Victor Hugo Franche-Comté.
Deux très beaux moments également au Grand Kursaal : Hervé Niquet et le Concert Spirituel ont proposé une soirée Haendel de très haut niveau, tandis que Quintet Bumbac a fait voyager le public avec ses mélodies des Balkans et du Moyen-Orient.
Le concert jeune public « Mozart illustré » en création au Festival, avec le Winds Arts Orchestra dirigé par Julien Bénéteau, et les illustrations en direct de Grégoire Pont, a également remporté un vif succès, tant auprès des scolaires que du grand public.
Enfin, la formule des apéro-jazz en plein air, Place Granvelle, en remplacement des after-jazz, a trouvé son public dès la première soirée, la fréquentation ayant été multipliée par trois par rapport à l’ancienne formule.

OCLausanne (c) Yves Petit

Orchestre de Chambre de Lausanne © Yves Petit

Camille Pépin a séduit

La résidence de la compositrice Camille Pépin a dû être réduite, avec l’annulation d’une partie des rencontres prévues au printemps avec les conservatoires, ainsi que deux concerts où des pièces symphoniques auraient dû être jouées en septembre.

Mais les festivaliers ont tout de même pu entendre la musique de notre jeune compositrice grâce au Trio Métral puis Célia Oneto Bensaid qui a magnifiquement interprété deux pièces dans un récital Ravel-Glass-Pépin

Camille Pépin (c) Yves Petit

Camille Pépin © Yves Petit

Quelques chiffres

• L’édition 2020 est marquée par la crise sanitaire du COVID-19 avec l’annulation de sept concerts symphoniques, la réduction des jauges et l’adaptation de la programmation (changements de salles et d’horaires).

10000
spectateurs
3000
spectateurs seulements sur les concerts payants
7000
spectateurs sur les concerts gratuits
-75%
de billetterie par rapport à 2018

L’annulation de sept concerts majeurs et la réduction des jauges expliquent en partie ces chiffres, mais il semble qu’une partie du public n’a pas encore pleinement retrouvé le chemin des salles de concert…

• Le budget 2020 est légèrement inférieur dû aux annulations

815000
euros environ

En cette année exceptionnelle, le Festival tient particulièrement à remercier tous ses partenaires et mécènes qui ont maintenu leur soutien.