With the 74th edition of the Besançon international Music Festival and the 57th Young Conductors’ Competition, it is not only art and culture that are in the spotlight, it is our entire social life that is being celebrated!

The benefits are even more evident after a year of pandemics, even if certain precautions still need to be taken.
Since 1948, this international event has been the rhythm of our end of summer, offering us unforgettable moments. We only have to leaf through the album of memories to measure how much the festival and its competition are distinctive elements of our common heritage. A living heritage that is enriched each year by the performances of great interpreters, prestigious ensembles and talents discovered with emotion.
No need to be a music lover! Of a demanding quality, while being accessible to all, the programming is open to all forms of expression, including world music, weaving links through time
and cultures. It multiplies the free concerts, goes to meet different audiences, spreads from Besançon to Belfort through Lons-le-Saunier, Vesoul, Baume-les-Dames…
The richness and diversity of this event, its cultural, but also social and economic roots, give full meaning to the constant commitment of our communities to its organizers.
To paraphrase Georges Duhamel, we can say that music “is what makes a working day a living day”!

Brochure of the 74th edition
Press review 2021
Press kit 2021
Photo & video gallery 2021

First review

Artistic review

The return of the Compagnie La Tempête, in Besançon and Baume-les-Dames, has once again left its mark with two very beautiful concerts.

The Orchestre national de Lyon, between two stages of the Competition, has reserved a beautiful evening with the pianist Alexandre Kantorow, with notably a piece by Camille Pépin, La Source d’Yggdrasil. Les Siècles brilliantly celebrated Saint-Saëns, while Les Dissonances offered to the public (younger than usual) a Rite of Spring “dazzling” [Resmusica], without conductor!

After a remarkable opening concert, the Orchestre Victor Hugo Franche-Comté, a privileged and historical partner of the Competition, brilliantly took on the demanding exercise of the first two rounds of the competition under the baton of the twenty young candidates.

In addition to vocal and symphonic music, the opening concerts of Bagad Kemper were very attractive, not forgetting Koum Tara and Hâl (Keyvan Chemirani) in world music, while the Apéro-jazz seems to be an appointment awaited by the inhabitants of Besançon in the first part of the evening.

If most of the evenings were well attended, in particular the closing concert which welcomed more than 700 people to hear the Orchestra di Padova e del Veneto (postponed from 2020), some concerts were a little less attractive: the recital of Boris Berezovsky (with a change of date) or the evening of “Cordes au féminin” with Le Concert Idéal.

In the region, the attendance was also contrasted, with a large audience in Lons-le-Saunier and Baume-les-Dames, but more cautious in Dole as well as on the stages of Vesoul and Belfort (this last venue having applied a reduced gauge).

Les Dissonances © Yves Petit

57th Competition

Despite the health context, the 57th Young Conductors’ Competition was held in its entirety and kept a large audience on its toes, remaining an unmissable highlight of this edition.

At the end of the Final between Jong-Jie Yon (Chinese, 21 years old), Deun Lee (South Korean, 32 years old) and Chloé Dufresne (French, 29 years old), the jury chose to award three “special mentions”.
If the three finalists have each demonstrated undeniable qualities, none of them will have risen to the level of the Grand Prix de direction.
The French Chloé Dufresne was awarded the “coups de cœur” of the orchestra and the public.

The announcement of the non-awarding of the Grand Prize has caused many reactions from the public.
Let us recall that the latter is awarded after a week of tests. The jury’s judgment is based on the young conductors’ conducting skills as well as on the way they work with and with the guest orchestras during the competition, but also during the closed rehearsals, which were very revealing this year.

To award the Grand Prix to a candidate who does not have all the necessary weapons and assets is to propel him or her too early before major international orchestras whose judgment can be ruthless, with the risk of a harmful experience for the beginning of his or her career.

Competition Final © Yves Petit

Some figures

• In a context still marked by the aftermath of the health crisis, a drop in attendance was recorded but many have already returned to the concert halls

17,400
spectators
-28
of attendance
11,000
spectators at paid concerts
6,400
spectators on the free concerts

• The 2021 budget is roughly equal to 2019, the last year with Competition

1,300,000
euros (provisional figure)

• In this year of recovery from the health crisis, the Festival would particularly like to thank all its partners and sponsors, both public and private, who have maintained their support and thus ensured that the Association is not in danger.

Avec la 74e édition du Festival de musique de Besançon Franche-Comté et le 57e Concours de jeunes chefs d’orchestre, ce ne sont pas seulement l’art et la culture qui sont à l’honneur, c’est toute notre vie sociale qui est à la fête !

Nous en mesurons plus encore les bienfaits après une année de pandémie, même s’il convient de prendre encore certaines précautions.
Depuis 1948, cet événement d’envergure internationale rythme nos fins d’été, nous offrant en partage des moments inoubliables. Il n’est qu’à feuilleter l’album des souvenirs pour mesurer combien le festival et son concours sont des éléments distinctifs de notre patrimoine commun. Un patrimoine vivant qui s’enrichit chaque année des prestations de grands interprètes, d’ensembles prestigieux et de talents découverts avec émotion.
Nul besoin d’être un mélomane averti ! D’une qualité exigeante, tout en étant accessible à tous, la programmation s’ouvre à toutes formes d’expression, dont les musiques du monde, tissant des liens à travers le temps
et les cultures. Elle multiplie les concerts gratuits, va à la rencontre de différents publics, essaime de Besançon à Belfort en passant par Lons-le-Saunier, Vesoul, Baume-les-Dames…
La richesse et la diversité de cet événement, son ancrage culturel, mais aussi social et économique, donnent pleinement sens à l’engagement constant de nos collectivités auprès de ses organisateurs.
Pour paraphraser Georges Duhamel, nous pouvons affirmer que la musique « est ce qui fait d’une journée de travail une journée de vie » !

Brochure de la 74e édition
Bilan de la 74e édition
Revue de presse 2021
Dossier de presse 2021
La médiathèque de l'édition 2021

Premier bilan

Bilan artistique

Le retour de la Compagnie La Tempête, à Besançon et Baume-les-Dames aura, une fois encore, marqué les esprits avec deux très beaux concerts mis en lumière.

L’Orchestre national de Lyon, entre deux étapes du Concours, a réservé une belle soirée en compagnie du pianiste Alexandre Kantorow, avec notamment une pièce de Camille Pépin, La Source d’Yggdrasil. Les Siècles ont brillamment célébré Saint-Saëns, tandis que Les Dissonances ont offert au public (plus jeune qu’à l’accoutumée) un Sacre du Printemps « ébouriffant » [Resmusica], sans chef d’orchestre !

Après un concert d’ouverture remarqué, l’Orchestre Victor Hugo Franche-Comté, partenaire privilégié et historique du Concours, s’est plié avec brio à l’exercice exigeant des deux premiers tours de la compétition sous la baguette des vingt jeunes candidats.

Outre la musique vocale et symphonique, les concerts du Bagad Kemper en ouverture ont largement séduit, sans oublier Koum Tara et Hâl (Keyvan Chemirani) en musiques du monde, tandis que les Apéro-jazz semblent être désormais un rendez-vous attendu par les bisontins en première partie de soirée.

Si la plupart des soirées ont fait de belles salles, notamment le concert de clôture qui a accueilli plus de 700 personnes pour entendre l’Orchestra di Padova e del Veneto (report de 2020), certains concerts ont un peu moins séduit : le récital de Boris Berezovsky (avec un changement de date) ou la soirée Cordes au féminin avec Le Concert Idéal.
En région, fréquentation contrastée également, avec un public nombreux à Lons-le-Saunier et Baume-les-Dames, mais plus frileux à Dole ainsi que sur les scènes de Vesoul et Belfort (ce dernier lieu ayant appliqué une jauge réduite).

Les Dissonances © Yves Petit

57e Concours

Malgré le contexte sanitaire, le 57e Concours de jeunes chefs s’est déroulé intégralement et a tenu en haleine un public nombreux, demeurant un temps fort incontournable de cette édition.

A l’issue de la Finale opposant Jong-Jie Yon (Chinois de 21 ans), Deun Lee (Coréen du Sud de 32 ans) et Chloé Dufresne (Française de 29 ans), le jury a choisi de délivrer trois « mentions spéciales ».
Si les trois finalistes ont chacun démontré des qualités indéniables, aucun ne se sera hissé à la hauteur du Grand Prix du direction.
La française Chloé Dufresne s’est vu décerner les « coups de cœur » de l’orchestre et du public.

L’annonce de la non-attribution du Grand Prix a suscité de nombreuses réactions de la part du public.
Rappelons que ce dernier est attribué après une semaine d’épreuves. Le jugement du jury se construit au fur et à mesure de la compétition, autant sur les capacités de direction des jeunes chefs que sur leurs façons de travailler avec et de faire travailler les orchestres invités, pendant les épreuves mais aussi pendant les répétitions à huis clos qui ont été très révélatrices cette année.

Attribuer le Grand Prix à un candidat qui n’aurait pas toutes les armes et les atouts nécessaires, c’est le propulser trop tôt devant de grands orchestres internationaux dont le jugement peut être impitoyable, avec le risque d’une expérience néfaste pour le début de sa carrière.

Finale du Concours © Yves Petit

Quelques chiffres

• Dans un contexte encore marqué par les suites de la crise sanitaire, une baisse de fréquentation a été enregistrée mais beaucoup ont déjà repris le chemin des salles de concert

17 400
spectateurs
-28
de fréquentation
11 000
spectateurs sur les concerts payants
6 400
spectateurs sur les concerts gratuits

• Le budget 2021 est sensiblement égal à 2019, dernière année avec Concours

1 300 000
euros environ (chiffre provisoire)

En cette année de sortie de crise sanitaire, le Festival tient particulièrement à remercier tous ses partenaires et mécènes, publics et privés, qui ont maintenu leur soutien et ainsi permis que l’Association ne soit pas en danger.