The British conductor will preside over the jury of the 57th Besançon International Competition for Young Conductors in 2021!

Musical Director of the Orchestre National Bordeaux Aquitaine since 2013, Paul Daniel is also Principal Conductor and Artistic Director of the Real Filarmonía de Galicia since 2012. During his career, he has been Principal Conductor and Artistic Advisor to the West Australian Symphony Orchestra (2009-2013) and Music Director of the English National Opera (1997-2005), Opera North (1990-1997) and Opera Factory (1987-1990). He has conducted many of the world’s leading orchestras including the London Philharmonic, BBC Orchestra, Orchestre de Paris, New York Philharmonic, Los Angeles Philharmonic, Tonhalle Orchester Zurich, Netherlands Radio Philharmonic, Royal Scottish National Orchestra, Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, and others.

jury 2021

The full composition of the jury will be announced in the coming weeks.
Discover the first members of the 2021 jury

  • Paul Daniel, jury Chairman conductor
  • Jacques Mercier conductor
  • Camille Pépin composer
  • Jean-François Verdier conductor
  • Dima Slobodeniouk conductor

Paul Daniel © Frances Andrijich

Organization of the 57th Competition

In a still uncertain health context, the organizing association and its partners wished to maintain the 57th edition of the International Competition for Young Conductors in 2021.
Registration will open in January 2021 and preliminary rounds will take place between April 16 and May 5, 2021, in Beijing, Montreal, Berlin, Paris and Besançon (subject to the evolution of the COVID-19 epidemic and possible restrictions of movement resulting from it).
The final rounds with orchestra will take place from September 13 to 18 in Besançon, during the 74th edition of the Music Festival, with the Orchestre Victor Hugo Franche-Comté and the Orchestre National de Lyon.

X

Le chef d’orchestre britannique présidera le jury du 57e Concours international de jeunes chefs d’orchestre de Besançon en 2021 !

Directeur musical de l’Orchestre National Bordeaux Aquitaine depuis 2013, Paul Daniel est également chef principal et directeur artistique de la Real Filarmonía de Galice depuis 2012. Au cours de sa carrière, il a été Chef principal et conseiller artistique du West Australian Symphony Orchestra (2009-2013) et Directeur musical de l’English National Opera (1997-2005), Opera North (1990-1997) et Opera Factory (1987-1990). Il a dirigé les plus grandes formations orchestrales internationales : London Philharmonic, les Orchestres de la BBC, Orchestre de Paris, New York Philharmonic, Los Angeles Philharmonic, Tonhalle Orchester Zurich, Netherlands Radio Philharmonic, Royal Scottish National Orchestra, Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France…

jury 2021

L’intégralité de la composition du jury sera dévoilé dans les prochaines semaines.
Découvrez les premiers membres du jury 2021

  • Paul Daniel, Président du jury chef d’orchestre
  • Jacques Mercier chef d’orchestre
  • Camille Pépin compositrice
  • Jean-François Verdier chef d’orchestre
  • Dima Slobodeniouk chef d’orchestre

Paul Daniel © Frances Andrijich

Organisation du 57e Concours

Dans un contexte sanitaire encore incertain, l’association organisatrice et ses partenaires ont souhaité maintenir la tenue de la 57e édition du Concours international de jeunes chefs d’orchestre en 2021.

Les inscriptions ouvriront en janvier 2021 et les présélections se dérouleront entre le 16 avril et le 5 mai 2021, à Pékin, Montréal, Berlin, Paris et Besançon (sous réserve de l’évolution de l’épidémie de COVID-19 et des éventuelles restrictions de circulation en découlant).
Enfin, les épreuves finales avec orchestre se dérouleront du 13 au 18 septembre à Besançon, pendant la 74e édition du Festival de musique, avec l’Orchestre Victor Hugo Franche-Comté et l’Orchestre National de Lyon.

X