The 73rd “limited edition” of the Festival ended Sunday, September 20, with Orquesta Silbando’s tango notes at the Grand Kursaal, a concert broadcast on a giant screen in Place Granvelle and live on the Internet.
The positioning of the Festival at the end of the summer allowed us to set up an edition adapted to the health context (suppression of the big symphonic formations, changes of places, schedules, retransmissions on giant screen and on the web…), and to offer you, after several months of silence, an edition which remained rich and varied.

First figures

Nearly 10,000 of you attended one of this year’s thirty concerts, including 7,000 at the free events: the opening concerts with Roda do Cavaco and then the Orchestre Victor Hugo Franche-Comté , the eight concerts of the Boucle musicale, the Youth Orchestra, the six aperitif-jazz on the Place Granvelle and the closing concert.

As expected, ticket sales are down sharply (-75%), and if the cancellation of seven major concerts and the reduction of gauges partly explain these figures, it seems that a part of our audience has not yet fully regained their way to the concert halls…

Transat (c) Yves Petit

Artistic review and highlights

Highlights include the Orchestre de chambre de Lausanne with soloist Alisa Weilerstein on cello in Shostakovich’s Concerto, under the baton of Joshua Weilerstein, the only “big band” of this edition with the Orchestre Victor Hugo Franche-Comté.

Two very beautiful moments also at the Grand Kursaal: Hervé Niquet and the Concert Spirituel offered a Handel evening of the highest level, while Quintet Bumbac took the audience on a journey with its melodies from the Balkans and the Middle East.

The young audience concert “Mozart illustré”, premiered at the Festival, with the Winds Arts Orchestra conducted by Julien Bénéteau, and live illustrations by Grégoire Pont, was also a great success, both with school children and the general public.

Finally, the aperitif-jazz concerts, Place Granvelle, replacing after-jazz, found its audience from the very first evening, with attendance tripled compared to the old formula.

Camille Pépin seduced

The residence of composer Camille Pépin had to be reduced, with the cancellation of part of the meetings planned for the spring with the conservatories, as well as two concerts where symphonic pieces should have been played in September.

But festival-goers were still able to hear the music of our young composer thanks to the Trio Metral and then Célia Oneto Bensaid who performed two pieces magnificently in a Ravel-Glass-Pépin recital.

Camille Pépin (c) Yves Petit
X

La 73e « édition limitée » du Festival s’est terminée ce dimanche 20 septembre sur les notes tango d’Orquesta Silbando au Grand Kursaal, concert retransmis sur écran géant Place Granvelle et en direct sur Internet.
Le positionnement du Festival en fin d’été nous a permis de mettre en place une édition adaptée au contexte sanitaire (suppression des grandes formations symphoniques, changements de lieux, d’horaires, retransmissions sur écran géant et sur le web…), et de vous proposer, après plusieurs mois de silence, une édition qui est restée riche et variée.

Premiers chiffres

Vous êtes près de 10 000 à avoir assisté à l’un des trente concerts de cette année, dont 7 000 sur les événements gratuits : les concerts d’ouverture avec Roda do Cavaco puis l’Orchestre Victor Hugo Franche-Comté, les huit concerts de la Boucle musicale, l’Orchestre des jeunes, les six apéro-jazz Place Granvelle et la clôture.

Comme pressenti, les recettes de billetterie sont en forte baisse (-75%), et si l’annulation de sept concerts majeurs et la réduction des jauges expliquent en partie ces chiffres, il semble qu’une partie de notre public n’a pas encore pleinement retrouvé le chemin des salles de concert…

Transat (c) Yves Petit

Bilan artistique et temps forts

Parmi les temps forts, citons l’Orchestre de chambre de Lausanne avec en soliste Alisa Weilerstein au violoncelle dans le Concerto de Chostakovitch, sous la baguette de Joshua Weilerstein, seule « grande formation » de cette édition avec l’Orchestre Victor Hugo Franche-Comté.

Deux très beaux moments également au Grand Kursaal : Hervé Niquet et le Concert Spirituel ont proposé une soirée Haendel de très haut niveau, tandis que Quintet Bumbac a fait voyager le public avec ses mélodies des Balkans et du Moyen-Orient.

Le concert jeune public « Mozart illustré » en création au Festival, avec le Winds Arts Orchestra dirigé par Julien Bénéteau, et les illustrations en direct de Grégoire Pont, a également remporté un vif succès, tant auprès des scolaires que du grand public.

Enfin, la formule des apéro-jazz en plein air, Place Granvelle, en remplacement des after-jazz, a trouvé son public dès la première soirée, la fréquentation ayant été multipliée par trois par rapport à l’ancienne formule.

Camille Pépin a séduit

La résidence de la compositrice Camille Pépin a dû être réduite, avec l’annulation d’une partie des rencontres prévues au printemps avec les conservatoires, ainsi que deux concerts où des pièces symphoniques auraient dû être jouées en septembre.

Mais les festivaliers ont tout de même pu entendre la musique de notre jeune compositrice grâce au Trio Métral puis Célia Oneto Bensaid qui a magnifiquement interprété deux pièces dans un récital Ravel-Glass-Pépin

Camille Pépin (c) Yves Petit
X