Skip to main content
festival

Over 16,000 thanks!

By 4 November 2021No Comments

In 2021, we announced an edition under the sign of the reunion, with the artists and the places of concert, but also and especially with the public: you answered present!

Figures of the 74th Festival

It was obviously one of the fears of this edition: will the public be there after two years marked by the health crisis? The first trend had reassured us, and we can now confirm that the answer is yes!

We had anticipated this decline, the association is not in danger and we are pleased to see that many are already returning to the concert halls.

Your loyalty will have allowed us to limit to – 28% of attendance, with a total of 17,400 spectators (25,000 in 2019, the last year with Competition). This decline is in line with the national trend observed for live performances in theaters, ranging from -15% to -70%.

  • 11,000 people attended a paying concert in this edition
  • the free concerts and proposals reached about 6,400 people, despite a drop in attendance on the opening night, mainly due to the weather conditions and the presentation of the health pass.

In a context still marked by the aftermath of the health crisis, and thanks to the support of its public and private partners, we had anticipated a drop in ticketing revenue and the Association is not in danger.

all pictures

Artistic review

The return of the Compagnie La Tempête, in Besançon and Baume-les-Dames, has once again left its mark with two very beautiful concerts.

The Orchestre national de Lyon, between two stages of the Competition, has reserved a beautiful evening with the pianist Alexandre Kantorow, with notably a piece by Camille Pépin, La Source d’Yggdrasil. Les Siècles brilliantly celebrated Saint-Saëns, while Les Dissonances offered to the public (younger than usual) a “dazzling” Rite of Spring [Resmusica], without a conductor!

After a remarkable opening concert, the Orchestre Victor Hugo Franche-Comté, a privileged and historical partner of the Competition, brilliantly took on the demanding exercise of the first two rounds of the competition under the baton of the twenty young candidates.

In addition to vocal and symphonic music, the opening concerts of Bagad Kemper were very attractive, not forgetting Koum Tara and Hâl (Keyvan Chemirani) in world music, while the Apéro-jazz seems to be an appointment awaited by the inhabitants of Besançon in the first part of the evening.

If most of the evenings were well attended, in particular the closing concert which welcomed more than 700 people to hear the Orchestra di Padova e del Veneto (postponed from 2020), some concerts were a little less attractive: Boris Berezovsky‘s recital (with a change of date) or the evening of “Cordes au féminin” with Le Concert Idéal.

In the region, attendance was also mixed, with a large audience in Lons-le-Saunier and Baume-les-Dames, but more cautious in Dole as well as on the stages of Vesoul and Belfort (the latter venue having applied a reduced gauge).

In spite of the health context, the 57th Young Conductors Competition was held in its entirety and kept a large audience on its toes, remaining an unmissable highlight of this edition.
Although the three finalists each demonstrated undeniable qualities, none of them was able to compete for the Grand Prix de direction.

No Grand Prix in 2021
X

Skip to main content
Festival

Plus de 16 000 mercis !

By 4 novembre 2021No Comments

En 2021, nous vous avions annoncé une édition sous le signe des retrouvailles, avec les artistes et les lieux de concert, mais aussi et surtout avec le public : vous avez répondu présent !

Les chiffres du 74e Festival

C’était évidemment l’une des craintes de cette édition : le public sera-t-il au rendez-vous après deux années marquées par la crise sanitaire ? La première tendance nous avait rassuré, et nous pouvons désormais vous confirmer que la réponse est oui !

Nous avions anticipé cette baisse, l’association n’est donc pas en danger et nous sommes heureux de voir que beaucoup reprennent déjà le chemin des salles de concert.

Votre fidélité aura permis de limiter à – 28% de fréquentation, avec un total de 17 400 spectateurs (25 000 en 2019, dernière année avec Concours). Cette baisse s’inscrit dans la tendance nationale constatée pour le spectacle vivant en salles, allant de -15% à -70%.

  • 11 000 personnes ont assisté à un concert payant de cette édition
  • les concerts et propositions gratuites ont touché environ 6 400 personnes, et ce malgré une baisse de fréquentation sur la soirée d’ouverture en raison essentiellement des conditions météorologiques et à la présentation du pass sanitaire.

Dans un contexte encore marqué par les suites de la crise sanitaire, et grâce au soutien de ses partenaires publics et privés, nous avions anticipé une baisse des recettes de billetterie et l’Association n’est pas en danger.

Toutes les photos

Bilan artistique

Le retour de la Compagnie La Tempête, à Besançon et Baume-les-Dames aura, une fois encore, marqué les esprits avec deux très beaux concerts mis en lumière.

L’Orchestre national de Lyon, entre deux étapes du Concours, a réservé une belle soirée en compagnie du pianiste Alexandre Kantorow, avec notamment une pièce de Camille Pépin, La Source d’Yggdrasil. Les Siècles ont brillamment célébré Saint-Saëns, tandis que Les Dissonances ont offert au public (plus jeune qu’à l’accoutumée) un Sacre du Printemps « ébouriffant » [Resmusica], sans chef d’orchestre !

Après un concert d’ouverture remarqué, l’Orchestre Victor Hugo Franche-Comté, partenaire privilégié et historique du Concours, s’est plié avec brio à l’exercice exigeant des deux premiers tours de la compétition sous la baguette des vingt jeunes candidats.

Outre la musique vocale et symphonique, les concerts du Bagad Kemper en ouverture ont largement séduit, sans oublier Koum Tara et Hâl (Keyvan Chemirani) en musiques du monde, tandis que les Apéro-jazz semblent être désormais un rendez-vous attendu par les bisontins en première partie de soirée.

Si la plupart des soirées ont fait de belles salles, notamment le concert de clôture qui a accueilli plus de 700 personnes pour entendre l’Orchestra di Padova e del Veneto (report de 2020), certains concerts ont un peu moins séduit : le récital de Boris Berezovsky (avec un changement de date) ou la soirée Cordes au féminin avec Le Concert Idéal.
En région, fréquentation contrastée également, avec un public nombreux à Lons-le-Saunier et Baume-les-Dames, mais plus frileux à Dole ainsi que sur les scènes de Vesoul et Belfort (ce dernier lieu ayant appliqué une jauge réduite).

Malgré le contexte sanitaire, le 57e Concours de jeunes chefs s’est déroulé intégralement et a tenu en haleine un public nombreux, demeurant un temps fort incontournable de cette édition.
Si les trois finalistes ont chacun démontré des qualités indéniables, aucun ne se sera hissé à la hauteur du Grand Prix du direction.

Pas de Grand Prix en 2021
X