The 58th edition of the Besançon International Competition for Young Conductors will be held in 2023!

The name of the President of the Jury will be announced in the fall of 2022.
The preliminary rounds will take place in the spring of 2023, before the final rounds in September during the 76th edition of the Music Festival.

Steps of the 58th Competition

Registration – January 2023

Registrations will open at the beginning of January 2023 (date to be specified).
They will be open for about 15 days, subject to availability in each city.

Competition Rules (2021 - pending 2022)

Preliminary rounds – April 14 to May 3, 2023

Each registered candidate is called upon to conduct symphonic works played by two pianists at two pianos, in front of two members of the jury.


  • David Berdery
  • Paul Montag

Members of the jury in charge of the preliminary rounds

  • Jacques Mercier
  • NN


  • ND

© Yves Petit

Germany, Berlin

Hanns Eisler University of Music
April 14, 15, 16, 2023

France, Paris

École Normale de musique Alfred Cortot
April 18, 19 & 20, 2023

Japan, Tokyo

April 23 & 24, 2023

France, Besançon

Cité des arts
April 27 & 28, 2023

Canada, Montreal

Conservatoire de musique
May 2 & 3, 2023

Final rounds – September 17 to 23, 2023

The final rounds will take place from September 17 to 23, 2023 in Besançon, during the 76th Besançon International Music Festival.

  • All rounds with orchestra are public. All works are compulsory.
  • Candidates are called upon either to conduct all or part of the musical pieces, or to have the artists work under their musical direction, depending on their desire for interpretation or the jury’s request.

The constitution of the jury, the choice of works as well as the participating orchestras and artists are currently being worked out.

© Yves Petit


Welcome and information meeting

Sunday, September 17th

1st round

Monday, September 18th
(max 20 candidates)

2nd round

Tuesday September 19th
(max 20 candidates)


Wednesday September 20th
(max 8 candidates)


Saturday, September 23rd
(max 3 candidates)